Bangalore from the eyes of a non gujju Ahmadabad-ian!!

Recently I returned from Bangalore, went to spend some time with a part of my family which stays there and from the eyes of first time Bangalore visitor, here is the impression that this wonderful city puts on…

The first thing one notices after landing in Bangalore is its Red Beauty standing just a lane across its arrival gate, i.e. the Vajra Volvo Buses, these are air conditioned buses plying from one part of the city to another. With these buses the commutation for people using public transport service has become comfortable for they well connect the city. Though the prices are little high, the daily passengers prefer to use this because of the comfort of travelling. These are the buses making the transport to the airport cheaper and safer, be it in the midnight, early morning or in the noon these buses run for 24 hours. So no hassle of booking a cab and paying them 600 bucks. With the fair of 180 INR I reached my destination from the airport and the staff/driver/conductor were surprisingly polite and helpful. Also the separate section for luggage makes you sit and enjoy the ride without any hassles. And yeah, one such ride back to the airport earned me a new friend…

Volvo

Here is what the Ahmadabad-ian counterpart of these buses looks like and also the bus stop(inset)… 😛

AMTS

Well Kidding, Ahmedabad has also got its BRTS (Bus Rapid Transport System) buses which are kinda more ‘hip looking’ but yet tiresome to travel into coz they are still crowded with the bucolic majority of the city…

brts

While sitting in these volvo buses for about 1.5-2 hours (to reach the main city from the airport) a non Bangalorean can’t miss the hoardings in regional language Kannada quite similar to the Gujarati counterparts here in Ahmadabad but one distinct feature of Kannada language is that it looks like everything is written using different orientations of Omega (Ѡ) See it by yourself, here’s a sample… And I have no idea what the text means so if its offensive then I am not the one to blame… 😛 and if you know what it means then leave me the meaning in the comments section… 🙂

Kannada hoarding

One more thing I noticed is that people here add an extra ‘H’ to many words and names, example they write Preeti as Preethi and Jyoti as Jyothi… Well who knows why!!

Another amazing thing I liked about Bangalore is its pubs, I visited one named ‘Legends Of Rock’ in Koramangala on my second day in the city and ‘Hard Rock Cafe’ later in this ‘Pub City’ of India but damn they all get closed by 11 PM, max 11:30 PM and the city goes dead after that, I read an interview of some German DJ in Deccan Herald who was in Bangalore in those days and she said that in her country people head out of their houses after 11 and surprisingly here in Bangalore people head home at that time. Indeed strange it was to go out as early as 7:30 PM for a guy’s night out and be home by 12 AM, I was wondering, aren’t the cops ‘bribable’ there 😉

Kingfisher n Foster's

Talking particularly about ‘Legends Of Rock’ I found it better than Hard Rock Cafe and the most amazing part about this pub was its 3 large LCDs which simultaneously showed the videos of the Classic Rock numbers the DJ was spinning and for a classic rock fan like me its ‘The’ Place to be. Now imagine such place in Ahmedabad, being a dry city one would get Coke and Fanta instead of beer and gin and the DJ would have been spinning Munni Badnaam Hui (for this is what the people here prefer) and the crowd would hence have comprised of truck drivers… Ewww, goodness we don’t have such place and the only discotheque we had on regular basis had to shut down, all thanks to the ‘No Booze’ policy of Gujarat State. Legends Of Rock

Now talking about the food, I hate to say but Bangalore made me lose my appetite, no doubt there are damn good places to eat your heart out in Bangalore (as compared to Ahmadabad which offers little choice for Non Vegetarians) such as Nando’s and KFC but the staple food of Karnataka (and the entire South India) is just the scrumptious permutation and combination of the items shown below.

Untitled

You either die a hero or live long enough to see yourself hospitalized after consuming the said banquet. But the ‘edible’ stuff I really liked as per the taste was this green round stuff made of rice flour which is called ‘chhakuli’ there in Bangalore, Or the package named it so…

Chakkuli

The climate is just AWESOME, I like to call it the air-conditioned city. Okay, that’s a bit rich coming from a town stained from chronic pollution, and choked by the pungent bowels of a million farting rickshaws, but despite this, there is some truth to the claim. For Bangalore is on a plateau elevated above the sweaty depths of South India, and thereby enjoys a temperate climate usually somewhere around 30 C and to a person like me who just can’t stand the heat this city is heaven, its cloudy most of the time and sometimes even rainy and for the first time in my 20 years life I saw December rains thanks to Bangalore, neither too hot nor too chilly. And to my surprise this lasts only within the geographical limits of Bangalore for as I remember when I crossed the border and reached Tamil Nadu for seeing Hogenakkal falls, the weather changed drastically, from cloudy-rainy to hot-humid-sticky (which confirms the virtues of this uncommon climate) and this is the reason why I hate Tamil Nadu straight to its core beginning right from its name and the feeling gets stronger every time I visit this damn furnace of a state.

And yeah, Hogenakkal reminds me that a typical bollywood musical named ‘Ravan’ is said to have been shot there, I haven’t seen the movie for I stopped watching shitty movies after Raajneeti but I was told so, hence I believe it, if you have seen this flick then see if you can recall by the following pics…

 

Health Consciousness is excellent in this city. In this Garden City, you can see crowded garden even at 8’o clock in the night, morning jogs on the road side in random direction. I have seen a great sense of health awareness in people. It is true in such a fast moving city where people try to earn more and remember that health is very much important. And as the city weather is same throughout the year so it doesn’t help in any kind of ‘extra’ sweating which is an added advantage for a person like me.

bangalore joggers

Climate reminds me of the geography, Well let’s not even go there. I can’t type the names of the places of Bangalore without fracturing my fingers and you can’t pronounce them without fracturing your tongue… 😛

RADIO INDIGO!!! How can I forget to write about this remarkable present Bangalore has to offer, being from Ahmadabad where you get just some harsh sounding Gujju speaking Radio Jockeys and even worse, numbers like ‘Munni’ and ‘Sheila’ and contests asking who’s assets are better amongst them, Indigo was much more than just relief for me. This 24 hour English Radio Station not only plays some really cool numbers from all indigogenres ranging from Blues to Jazz and Top 40 to Classic Rock but also takes its stand for civic concerns and day to day problems faced by an average Bangalorean. With the collection of best voices in town such as Melodee Austin, Michelle Patrao, Kenny Jones, Rohit Barker and Sriram, Indigo rocks the airwaves of the city on 91.9 Mhz. A day after landing in Ahmedabad when I was bored one night I tuned to the abovementioned frequency as per my newly developed habit but then suddenly I realized listening to the static that damn I’m back in this Gujjuland. Also Indigo earned me some new friends back there, Hey DJ, Imp n Surya, m talking about you guys… 😉

Remember, Indigo’s not paying me for writing about it, my blog is not that popular yet…

Yeah I know all the girls who are reading this are wondering that why I haven’t mentioned about their favorite pastime, Shopping!!! Well girls, your patience paid off, here I go… Apart from those malls and stuff (I’m not gonna write about them) one place I liked for shopping was Commercial Street, Shopping on Commercial Street is…interesting. The place is packed to the gills with people, cars and shops. I went into several stores. It’s interesting to note some differences between a couple of them. Some of the stores would leave you to shop, occasionally asking if you needed any help. Others would mob you once you got in asking how many of these you wanted and whether or not you wanted to also get some of those and maybe a couple of other things. The shops are inexpensive, however. Shirts can be had for a couple bucks. Pirated books likewise, Yeah, PIRATED BOOKS, Bangalore does offer cheap deals for the reading buffs through these road side pirated book vendors with novels as cheap as 60-70 bucks, I got Mario Puzo’s 600 page classic ‘The Godfather’ for just 70 bucks (after much bargaining though)

Commercial Street

Bangalore is getting compacted like other metropolitan city. This is an apartment somewhere around Koramangala which I was told, costs 1.5 Crores for 3 BHK. These apartments are going out of afford for even managers and big businessmen. Also I have seen that people have started moving toward the outskirts to get a cheaper house. Unlike other cities, I have observed Bangalore has less number of multi-floor buildings. Looks like that it will be the next step. Expansion is good rather than getting packed at one place.

kora flats

When you tell someone that you are from Ahmedabad in Bangalore, they assume that you are a Gujju with last name Patel which I found quite funny… 😀

Its not even been 4 days since I returned but I am already nostalgic and there is one thing I have to say ‘Naanu Bengalooraanu Preethisuthene’ 🙂

Bangalore, I’m sold!!!

83 responses to “Bangalore from the eyes of a non gujju Ahmadabad-ian!!

  1. Pingback: how To Get Legendary Pokemon In Pokemon Indigo | Mapple Story Hacks

  2. Pingback: More And More People Need Custom Built Disability Cars | Automotive Info

  3. Pingback: December!!! « Kay's Blog

  4. This was one of the best reviews about Bangalore that I have read. Being a Banglorean I can surely say this covers most of what Bangalore would mean for an youth. Great job dude, the review has the dexterity of a writer. But man, the food is good…but guess you need the stomach for it…but for the record, its awesome!

  5. I?m impressed, I must say. Actually not often do I encounter a weblog that?s each educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you’ve gotten hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the difficulty is one thing that not enough persons are talking intelligently about. I’m very completely happy that I stumbled across this in my seek for one thing referring to this.

  6. An attention-grabbing dialogue is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this matter, it might not be a taboo topic however generally individuals are not enough to talk on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  7. An impressive share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing a bit analysis on this. And he in actual fact bought me breakfast as a result of I discovered it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the deal with! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to debate this, I feel strongly about it and love studying more on this topic. If potential, as you turn into experience, would you thoughts updating your weblog with extra details? It is extremely helpful for me. Big thumb up for this weblog publish!

  8. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this before. So good to search out any person with some unique ideas on this subject. realy thank you for beginning this up. this website is something that is wanted on the net, somebody with a bit originality. useful job for bringing something new to the internet!

  9. Simply, one of the best article l have come across on this precious subject. I quite agree with your suppositions and will eagerly look forward to your forthcoming updates.

  10. Pingback: 2010 in review « Kay's Blog

  11. I?d should test with you here. Which is not one thing I often do! I take pleasure in studying a submit that will make people think. Additionally, thanks for allowing me to comment!

  12. Nice post. I be taught something more difficult on different blogs everyday. It’s going to all the time be stimulating to learn content material from different writers and apply slightly one thing from their store. I’d prefer to use some with the content on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll provide you with a hyperlink in your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

  13. Pingback: Good Kharma keeps the wheel turning

  14. This web page can be a stroll-by way of for the entire data you wanted about this and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse here, and you’ll definitely discover it.

  15. I discovered your blog website on google and test a couple of of your early posts. Proceed to maintain up the superb operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Looking for forward to studying more from you afterward!…

  16. When I initially commented I clicked the -Notify me when new feedback are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get 4 emails with the identical comment. Is there any manner you’ll be able to remove me from that service? Thanks!

  17. The subsequent time I read a blog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as a lot as this one. I imply, I know it was my option to learn, but I really thought youd have one thing fascinating to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about one thing that you would fix for those who werent too busy on the lookout for attention.

  18. Can I just say what a aid to seek out someone who really knows what theyre speaking about on the internet. You undoubtedly know find out how to deliver a difficulty to gentle and make it important. More people have to read this and understand this side of the story. I cant consider youre not more widespread since you definitely have the gift.

  19. I’d must verify with you here. Which isn’t something I often do! I take pleasure in reading a put up that may make people think. Also, thanks for permitting me to comment!

  20. You made some respectable factors there. I seemed on the web for the issue and located most individuals will go together with together with your website.

  21. There are some interesting time limits in this article however I don’t know if I see all of them heart to heart. There may be some validity however I’ll take hold opinion till I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner as properly

  22. This authoring is really quite envigorating. You have a technique of bringing words to life. Have you actually considered professional writing? I’ve already been a compensated article author for about 3 months now, and get $450 daily writing critical reviews at my personal blog, remarking on blogs, and even writing articles. Sign up here if you’re serious.

  23. I’d be inclined to okay with you here. Which is not something I usually do! I really like reading a post that will make people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

  24. We’re a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your net internet site offered us with worthwhile data to perform on. You’ve accomplished a formidable employment and our whole community will probably be thankful for you.

  25. Pingback: Missing Bangalore! « Mr. KayCee's Blog

  26. I personally unquestionably understand what you have got mentioned. Genuinely, I actually shopped through your some other articles and I believe that you’re fully ideal. Congratulations this particular on the net blog.

  27. My brother suggested I might like this blog. He was entirely right.

    This post truly made my day. You can not imagine simply how much time I
    had spent for this information! Thanks!

  28. “..this is the reason why I hate Tamil Nadu straight to its core beginning right from its name and the feeling gets stronger every time I visit this damn furnace of a state.”

    And this from someone who professes to be a right-wing hater on twitter. You are no less than a rabid right wing nincompoop if you hate a place just for it’s name. Have you ever heard of places like Hosur, Coimbatore, Ooty, Kodaikanal in Tamil nadu ?

    You are no less than a Sanghi, who you claim to fight against. Pseudo-intellectuals like you are a big disgrace !

    In another article , you showed your hate towards Kannada for no reason. And here again, you are parading your hatred, well, for no reason.

    Grow up !

      • Lol. I’m just pointing out your hypocrisy , you moron. You keep crying on twitter over people hating Pakistan, and act like a liberal but you are being a typical smug yourself. Noone invited you to Tamil Nadu, nor asked whether you like it or not.

        Why don’t you take the jibes against Pakistan in good humour, rather than keep cribbing about it ? Shameless fuckhead ! Two-faced, hypocritical scumbag that you are !

      • Get abusive be be barred from commenting on this blog. Simple! I have no patience for abusive trolls like yourself, have seen many like you on Twitter. Delete this above comment or I’ll do it myself.

Leave a Reply

