All And Nothing

A visit to Crossword shows you that these days anyone, literally anyone can be a writer… Umm… let me frame this statement in another manner… A visit to Crossword shows you that these days everyone, literally everyone thinks that he/she can be a writer. They think that they can all narrate interesting stories and that there is an audience waiting for them. Bookstores are flooded with these so called authors ranging from a 12th grade kiddo who writes about inane and immature topic on why a girl and guy can just be friends to a nerd fantasizing about imaginary hot chicks in his engineering college. Also almost all of them lack proper grammatical knowledge and their works are filled with loads of spelling errors. For example usage of the word ‘hairs’ for ‘hair’, ‘bugs’ for ‘bucks’, ‘looser’ for ‘loser’, ‘pick’ for ‘peak’ and the list goes on. Another thing, young authors use SMS lingo in their writing to probably connect to the youth but that’s just pathetic.

All and Nothing Raksha BharadiaBut finally I found one book that clearly stands above them all: ‘All And Nothing’ by the veteran author Raksha Bharadia. Those from Ahmedabad would clearly identify Raksha as a regular columnist for ‘Ahmedabad Mirror’. For the book I can undoubtedly say that its the best fiction work by any Indian author I have read till date. I remember the author mentioning in the print that the USP of her book is the urbane characters and plot which one can relate to with oneself. Indeed the story is pragmatic and rational, the characters-totally believable and of ‘this world’ only, and the book has an excellent usage of grammar and vocabulary. Apart from all this the thing I liked the most about the book is its hardnosed and ‘no-nonsense’ nature. The characters do the talking for themselves and somehow manage to relate themselves with the readers. In simple words, its all ‘grown-up’ stuff.

Though I am not at a level where I could act as a critic for a veteran writer such as Raksha but frankly I felt that it would have been better if equal importance was given to other characters in the novel apart from Tina so that it would have done some justification with the epitome on the back cover. Again I say that I am no one to raise a question but this is just my honest opinion.

I generally don’t read Indian Authors’ works much (for they are not available online) but lately I have been reading quite a few of them, mostly of the post ‘Chetan Bhagat’ era and this book is the best one I found amongst the lot. Here I would like to mention another author named Nishant Kaushik who writes in the same lines with real, believable and practical plots and I am not telling this because he is an alumni of my Alma Mater but he is indeed a good novelist.

So winding up, its an amazing book which we would definitely relate to ourselves at one or the other point in our lives, so I would advise my readers (those interested in fiction) to go and grab a copy and you won’t be disappointed. And Raksha-all the best for this novel, waiting for other such amazing work of yours… Smile

(picture courtesy: www.news.infibeam.com)

One response to “All And Nothing

  1. Pingback: Self-Publishing = Effective, Professional and Economical Option For Authors | Scissores

Leave a Reply

