90s Nostalgia

Growing up in the 90s India has its own set of charms and memories.

I know, most of the 90s kids who are reading this must have got the gist of the above statement. I was born in 1990 and anything related to that decade (and the few early years of the following decade) make me smile. Why shouldn’t it be for we, the 90s kids belonged to that generation of India that had everything. Our country in our living memory never faced any emergency or major crisis. The closest could be the financial crisis in early 1990s but we were too young then and that proved to be a blessing in disguise and by the time we were teenagers the economy was freed up and we had the luxury to enjoy the good things in life i.e. American Television, Pepsi, Coke, McDonalds, Kingfisher-both airlines and the calendar (and now beer too) etc.

The days where pure innocence prevailed amongst our age group, going to school in the morning, returning back sharp at 2 to watch Hum Paanch on Zee TV, do homework and stuff, then again in the evening going out to play, come back home and watch Disney Hour and Cartoon Network. No mobile phones, no computer, no internet, no playing games on it, just fun. Computer didn’t showed its face at my place till late 1999. I still remember it was the day when a total solar eclipse occurred somewhere in September 1999 when I got my first computer at home. Now what I see in today’s kids-almost all are playing PC games, using Facebook,have cell phones in their pockets, no time for fun in todays Facebook Era. I would sell my soul to go back in those days.

Back then I used to be an ardent TV and music freak, so many of the memories are associated with TV. Cable TV had just shown its face in early 90s in India and Cartoon Network was the first Cartoon Channel. So kids like me had been hooked to Cartoon Network. I used to watch stuff like Dexter’s Lab, Johnny Bravo, Scooby Doo, The Adam’s Family, The Flintstones etc. on it. And yeah, back then it was all in English and to be frank I learnt English from Cartoon Network. yeah, it sounds foolish and funny but I give the credit of my English speaking skills to Cartoon Network and MTV (Don’t rub your eyes, in the 90s it wasn’t all this crappy Bollywood and Roadies Shit but used to play Nirvana and MJ too along with Indi pop). Well the topic of discussion among friends in School used to be Scooby Doo and Aladdin. Cartoon Network now has changed with all that Japanese stuff which is nowhere near to our 90s CN.

What I can say about 90s MTV India, the best thing a music lover could get, and it was MTV that aroused my interest in music, anyways enough has been said about 90s music here in my previous post so won’t blabber on it or else would have to divide this post in 2.

Other than Cartoon Network, Channels like Sony which were launched that time showed stuff like Disney Hour, a one hour block of Disney cartoons, dubbed shows like ‘I Dream Of Jeannie’ and DD Metro showed shows like Tu Tu Main Main and Shrimaan Shrimati. In those days, Comedy shows made you really laugh! I don’t even want to comment on the comedy reality shows being aired these days. Only a few shows like Khichdi, Sarabhai V/s Sarabhai have got epic status in Comedy and made me laugh so much like the 90s! Then there was Hum Paanch on Zee, the best Indian comedy show EVER!

Am I complaining about how things are today? Yes and no. Yes because, today the children and teens are blowing money on Cell-phones, hookahs, smoking, Bollywood movies, teen pop music and what not. All this was almost absent during the late 90s. (Oh! Sounding like an old guy again!)

And No because I like the way we are now. The world has changed in the last decade but we need to keep a grip on the youth. They need to be given a reality check about what they are doing. Children of the 90s have a certain focus in life which I find missing in the kids of the 2000s. For them Life is one big party.

One response to “90s Nostalgia

  1. Pingback: Pressman Ben 10 Quick Shot Game | Juegos De Bendies

Leave a Reply

